Harris sweeps D-III awards

• Click here for Golfweek's complete postseason coverage


The Golf Coaches Association of America announced awards following the NCAA Division III Championship, including All-America teams and coaches and players of the year.

St. John Fisher’s Scott Harris Jr. earned the Jack Nicklaus Award as the top player in Division III. Harris also won the Arnold Palmer Award as the medalist at the NCAA Championship.

Harris had six victories this season – the NCAA Championship, SLU Men’s Invitational, Nazareth Hobart Invitational, ECAC Upstate Championship, Mid-Atlantic Region Championship and the Fred B. Kravetz Invitational. He also had three other top-10 finishes this season and finished outside the top 10 only once.

Eleven players were named NCAA Division III first-team All-Americans – Harris, Nick Bova of Methodist, Ross Canavan of Redlands, Skidmore’s Chris DeJohn, Chris Green of Illinois Wesleyan, Nathaniel James of Washington & Lee, Mount Union’s Lucas Murray, Scott Pugh of Oglethorpe, Wesley’s Will Scarborough, Josh Schrader of Methodist and Joe Schoolmeesters of St. John’s (Minn.)

St. John Fisher’s Bob Simms earned coach of the year honors. Simms led his team to a third-place finish at the NCAA Division III Men’s Championship and helped three players earn All-American honors.

“I’m stunned,” Simms said. “What makes a good coach are good players.”

Simms was the Mid-Atlantic Region’s coach of the year, while Bob Alpers of St. John’s (Minn.) was honored in the Central, Methodist’s Steve Conley in the South, Rex Huigens of La Verne for the West, Rick Pohle of Williams in the Northeast and Ohio Wesleyan’s Jon Whithaus represented the Great Lakes.


Nick Bova, Methodist
Ross Canavan, Redlands
Chris DeJohn, Skidmore
Chris Green, Illinois Wesleyan
Scott Harris, Jr., St. John Fisher
Nathaniel James, Washington & Lee
Lucas Murray, Mount Union
Scott Pugh, Oglethorpe
Will Scarborough, Wesley
Josh Schrader, Methodist
Joe Schoolmeesters, St. John’s

Matt Bohlig, St. John’s
Matt Bova, Methodist
Tom Cooper, Methodist
David Marquardt, Knox
Tom Muto, Jr., St. John Fisher
Tobin Spector, Skidmore
E.J. Stenftenagel, Redlands
Bradley Sutherland, Transylvania
Tyler Wollberg, Carthage

Rizal Amin, La Verne
Jordan Brenner, Ohio Wesleyan
Josh Cumming, Greensboro
Joe Daly, St. John’s
Sam DaSilva, Skidmore
Chris Davis, La Verne
Tom Harman, Ohio Wesleyan
Alex Hedlund, Redlands
Joe Kiss, Olivet
Bobby McCartney, St. John Fisher
Jeff Nieman, Ohio Wesleyan
Joey Polinga, St. John’s
Chase Rogers, Huntingdon
Kyle Rohlfs, Gustavus Adolphus
AJ Vesey, Texas Lutheran
Pete Wendt, Wisconsin Eau Claire
Casey Wharton, Mary-Hardin Baylor

Show Hide