USGA president Nager elected to second term

Glen Nager, president of the U.S. Golf Association, has been elected to serve a second one-year term. The election took place Feb. 2 at the USGA’s Annual Meeting in Coronado, Calif.

Nager, 54, will continue to lead the association’s 300-plus professional staff and more than 1,200 volunteers who serve on more than 30 committees.

During his first term, Nager focused on a handful of issues and made them a priority for the organization. Those issues included preserving and protecting the game’s uniqueness, stagnant participation, the challenges of financial and environmental sustainability, the game’s globalization and the need to make golf more welcoming to a diverse audience.

At the USGA annual meeting, four other current members of the Executive Committee were elected to serve as officers: Thomas J. O’Toole Jr., of St. Louis, and Daniel B. Burton of Lititz, Pa., as vice presidents; William L. Katz of Chatham, N.J., as secretary; and Diana M. Murphy of St. Simons Island, Ga., as treasurer.

The other six current members of the Executive Committee continuing their service are Karen S. Ammerman of Webster, Mass.; William E. Fallon of Pittsburgh; William W. Gist IV of Omaha, Neb.; Edward G. Michaels III of Atlanta; Mark P. Reinemann, of Pewaukee, Wis.; and Gary R. Stevenson of San Francisco.

There are four newly elected members of the Executive Committee for 2013: Peter M. Castleman of Glenbrook, Nev.; C. Malcolm Holland III of Dallas; Sheila C. Johnson of Middleburg, Va.; and Mark E. Newell, of McLean, Va. Ernest J. Getto of Santa Barbara, Calif., has been elected to serve as USGA general counsel.

Information from the USGA was used in this report.

Show Hide